Our Team - UnionsWA2

Our Team


Owen Whittle

Carolyn Smith (United Workers Union)

Senior Vice-President 
Rikki Hendon (Community and Public Sector Union CSA)

Mick Buchan (Construction Forestry Mining and Energy Union)
Naomi McCrae (Health Services Union WA)
Ben Harris (The Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees' Association of WA)
Matt Jarman (State School Teachers' Union of W.A. (Inc))

UnionsWA is a democratic organisation, where affiliated unions elect the leadership group as well as the decision-making bodies of UnionsWA. We have a formal Constitution and Rules which sets out how the organisation functions, including the functions of our key decision making-bodies: UnionsWA Council and UnionsWA Executive.

Who makes up UnionsWA Council?

  • President
  • Senior Vice President
  • Vice Presidents (x4)
  • Secretary
  • Assistant Secretary
  • Council members nominated from affiliated unions. Number of representatives depends on the size of the Union

UnionsWA Council is the supreme decision making body for the WA trade union movement. It meets monthly with delegates from all affiliated unions. The forum for the meetings offers an opportunity to exchange information; debate and consider union and community issues and campaigns and to educate union delegates on current issues. Union members and community activists are welcome as observers.

Council meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 6pm.

Who makes up UnionsWA Executive?

  • President
  • Senior Vice President
  • Vice Presidents (x4)
  • Secretary
  • Assistant Secretary
  • Executive Members (x20) from a variety of union industry Groups

The Executive meets monthly and other meetings are called as required. Council is the main decision making body of UnionsWA, so all Executive decisions must be ratified (final approval) by Council.

Unity training